Home » Sounds

Review: Kid Cudi’s “Man on the Moon: The End of the Day”

Submitted by on August 27, 2009 – 2:35 pm11 Comments

Last night, Kiki and I attended the album listening for Kid Cudi‘s much anticipated debut album, Man on the Moon: The End of Day.

“I think its going to change the game”, said Sylvia Rhone, President of Universal Motown.

Plain Pat, Cudi’s DJ’ing manager, started playing the album that took listeners on a trip on the moon. Most of us were not sure what to expect, but we knew it would be an intriguing musical experience.

The fifteen track album is broken into five acts.


Track List:
1. In My Dreams (Cudder Anthem)
2. Soundtrack 2 My Life
3. Simple As…
4. Solo Dolo (nightmare)
5. Heart of A Lion (KiD CuDi Theme Music)
6. My World Feat. Billy Cravens
7. Day N Nite (nightmare)
8. Sky Might Fall
9. Enter Galactic (Love Connection Part 1)
10. Alive (nightmare) Feat. RATATAT
11. CuDi Zone
12. Make Her Say Feat. Kanye West & Common
13. Pursuit of Happiness (nightmare) Feat. MGMT & RATATAT
14. Hyyerr Feat. Chip Tha Rapper
15. Up Up & Away (The Wake & Bake Song)

Common introduces Man on the Moon, and narrates through each act. His voice can be a bit overwhelming at times since he’s featured on track number twelve, “Make her Say”.

However, the Common overload does not take away from the musical journey.

The production features 808 beats and drums. Think Kanye West‘s 808s & Heartbreak, with less of the tear jerking sounds and words. Each track carefully flows together as a chapter in a book.

I can foresee the songs on this album gaining musical licensing in popular basic cable teen drama programming, and HBO mini series.

A musical virtuoso carefully dissecting each track can hear the Phil Collins emotion, and Bob Dylan story telling influence in this album.

The features are not overwhelming for a debut album, since Cudi is not overshadowed on any of the tracks, with the exception of the Kanye West and Common feature “Make her Say.”

The album features the electo-duo RATATAT, and the hipster rock poster children MGMT on the elctronic tip. Ohio rapper Chip the Ripper is also on a track, which is a reminder that Cudi still reps for his home state.

One of my favorite tracks “My World” features an artist with the alias Billy Cravens. Cudi posted on his twitter:

as far as who Billy Cravens is, the world will never know…he wants to keep his identity private…

The album plays as a coming of age, melancholy infused soundtrack from beginning to end. This is a soundtrack for the 30 and under, quarter-life crises generation, and for anyone struggling to find themselves.

Full of emotions – uppers and downers – this is the type of futuristic love, emo sound, that may go over most listeners heads.

Man on the Moon is the kind of album that will surely be revisited in years to come, just as Jay-Z‘s debut album Reasonable Doubt was discovered years later by the masses.

Rhone closed the listening session and called Cudi the “Jimi Hendrix of rap.”

Kid Cudi is definitely changing the definition of what is considered hip-hop with his debut album.

Are you going to pick up Man on the Moon?

Related Posts with Thumbnails


Leave a comment!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS. Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

We want to keep in touch with you. If you give us your email address, you may receive marketing emails from the DJ Networks family. We hope that's cool.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.