Home » Sounds, Spotlight

Björk’s Biophilia To Be World’s First “App” Album

Submitted by on August 11, 2011 – 8:55 amNo Comment

Björk has outdone herself yet again for her forthcoming seventh album, Biophilia.

Four years since 2007′s critically-acclaimed Volta, Biophilia will be the world’s first “app” album in collaboration with Apple. Björk has described the project as a multimedia collection “encompassing music, apps, internet, installations, and live shows.” Collaborator Michel Gondry calls it “a very ambitious project, a sort of scientific musical.” Each track is accompanied by an app exploring the track’s various elements with exciting, interactive features.

According to CBC News, the title of the album comes from a term coined by biologist E.O. Wilson to describe an affinity between humans and the rest of the natural world, and the songs explore everything from the way in which the movement of tectonic plates relates to human interactions to the origins of the universe. Björk assembled a team of collaborators who designed a suite of software applications for the iPad, iPhone and iPod Touch exploring the album’s concepts. Three apps have already launched with the latest, “Virus,” debuting this week.

Every song on Biophilia has a subtitle and while some subtitles refer to the physical phenomena related to the song, others may refer to musical resources also related to those physical phenomena:

1. “Moon (Lunar cycles, sequences)”
2. “Thunderbolt (Lightning, arpeggios)”
3. “Crystalline (Structure)”
4. “Cosmogony (Music of the Spheres, equilibrium)”
5. “Dark Matter (Scales)”
6. “Hollow (DNA, rhythm)”
7. “Virus (Generative music)”
8. “Sacrifice (Man and Nature, notation)”
9. “Mutual Core (Tectonic plates, core)”
10. “Solstice (Gravity, counterpoint)”

Biophilia is scheduled for a September 27 release.

Related Posts with Thumbnails

Leave a comment!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS. Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

We want to keep in touch with you. If you give us your email address, you may receive marketing emails from the DJ Networks family. We hope that's cool.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.