Home » Technology

Beware Facebook “Photo Notification” Virus

Submitted by on August 29, 2012 – 10:09 amNo Comment
Share

No matter how badly you want to see your latest duckface from your friends party, don’t open that file: Mashable reports that a new scam is spreading a malware with emails disguised as Facebook photo notifications.

A new strain of malware identified by security firm Sophos as Troj/Agent-XNN has been circulating the social networking site, encouraging members to view photos as an attachment. After clicking on the infected link — which is disguised as a Facebook notification email — a ZIP file containing malware allows hackers to gain control over Windows-operated computers.

Of course, real notifications from the social network identify the friend who has posted the picture or tagged you; and the photo is linked to, never attached. But in the excitement of anticipation, or the assumption that Facebook was rolling out yet another new feature, users might be persuaded to un-zip the files.

Just another reminder: get some decent anti-virus software, and never click on links or attachments from unknown senders.

Related Posts with Thumbnails

Leave a comment!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS. Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

We want to keep in touch with you. If you give us your email address, you may receive marketing emails from the DJ Networks family. We hope that's cool.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.