Facebook Introduces “Nearby Friends” Location Tracking
Is this the final push of Facebook to take over our lives? The social network has bridged the physical and digital worlds with its “Nearby Friends” feature for smartphones, announced this week. But perhaps learning from past privacy flubs, Facebook has given this feature a high level of personalization. And most importantly, it’s opt-in, not default.
“If you turn on Nearby Friends, you’ll occasionally be notified when friends are nearby, so you can get in touch with them and meet up,” writes Facebook product manager Andrea Vaccari in a blog post. “For example, when you’re headed to the movies, Nearby Friends will let you know if friends are nearby so you can see the movie together or meet up afterward.”
Users of the Facebook mobile app will be able to turn the feature on and off at any time. They will also control which friends can see their location, and how specific the notification will be. It may only alert users that friends are in the area, or it may share a user’s exact location on a map to specific friends for a limited amount of time.
Both users will have to have the feature activated for it to work.
What do you think- will you use Nearby Friends, or is it just plain creepy? Let us know in the Comments.